Showing 998 results

Authority record

1st Stirlingshire Scout Group

  • C0109
  • Corporate body
  • 1908 -

The Boy Scout movement was founded in Britain in 1908 by Lieutenant-General Robert (later Lord) Baden-Powell (1857 - 1941), famous for his defence of Mafeking (1899-1900) during the Boer War. The organisation was initially for boys aged 11 to 14 or 15, and aimed to develop good citizenship, and skill in various outdoor activities. The Scouts were organised into small groups (patrols) of six or seven under a boy patrol leader. Training included tracking, reconnaissance, mapping, signalling, knotting, first aid, and other skills relevant to camping and outdoor activities. Training was rewarded by the granting of badges, and a daily good deed encouraged. Scouts had to obey the Scout Law, a simple code of chivalrous behaviour. The aims of the Scout movement are to help young people develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes that will enable them to be responsible, self-reliant citizens. Membership is now open to boys and girls between the ages of 10 1/2 and 15 1/2.The first recorded meeting of 1st Stirlingshire Scout Group was on 21 December 1908. It was the first scout group in Stirling and, in 1988, was one of only seven troops throughout Scotland with continuous activities.

A & L Barr

  • C0504
  • Corporate body
  • fl 1950

Abercromby, George, 1770 – 1843, 2nd Baron Abercromby, politician

  • P0043
  • Person
  • 1770 – 1843

George Abercromby, 2nd Baron Abercromby (14 October 1770 – 15 February 1843) was a Scottish lawyer, politician and peer. The eldest son of Lt.-Gen. Sir Ralph Abercromby and Mary Abercromby, 1st Baroness Abercromby, he became, like his grandfather, a lawyer, and was called to the Bar in 1794. On his death in 1843 he was succeeded in the barony by his son.

Aberfoyle Junior Secondary School

  • C0038
  • Corporate body
  • c. 1951 – 1974

Aberfoyle originally had a Public School from the late 19th century. Aberfoyle Junior Secondary School was in operation from c. 1951 and closed in July 1974 with pupils transferred to McLaren High School in Callander. By the 1930s, the main structure of Scottish secondary schooling had settled into a pattern of three-year ‘junior secondary’ and five-year ‘senior secondary’ courses. Junior Secondary’s were intended to prepare people for training and work. Senior Secondary’s were intended to lead to the professions either directly or through university. Allocation of pupils between these courses was mainly on the basis of tests of intelligence and of attainment (in English, arithmetic and mathematics) taken in the final year of primary school.

Aberfoyle Kirk Session

  • C0114
  • Corporate body
  • 1560 -

Historically, Aberfoyle Church belonged to the Abbey of Inchmahome. It was in the Presbytery of Dunblane and later the Presbytery of Stirling (for some time the Presbytery of Stirling and Dunblane). John Honeyman designed the present parish church building in 1869-1870, which replaced the Old Kirk of Aberfoyle which was situated on the south bank of the River Forth. (The old church was rebuilt in 1744 and repaired 1839). The new church was enlarged in 1883-84 to include transepts, and in 1974 a stained glass window by Gordon Webster was added. A bell originally presented to the Old Parish Church by the Duke of Montrose hangs in a small structure near the East gable. There is a two-manual pipe organ (1887) by Bryceson Brothers, London. In 1983 Aberfoyle Parish Church was linked with the Port of Menteith Parish Church.

Aberfoyle Ministers include the Gaelic scholar and author, Rev Robert Kirk (1644-1692) who was minister in the Old Parish Church, Aberfoyle 1685 – 1692. Kirk was the author of various Gaelic and English translations and publications and perhaps best known for his work ‘The Secret Commonwealth’(1691, published 1815) regarding fairies and other supernatural beings. Kirk was found dead on Doon Hill in 1692 which was known locally as a ‘fairy knowe’ – the tradition is that he was walking on the knowe when he sank down and disappeared. Kirk’s remains are buried in Aberfoyle [see Fasti, Vol 4 Presbytery of Dunblane, p334-335].

Aberfoyle Parish

  • C0013
  • Corporate body
  • 1845 - 1975

Prior to 1845, most local administration was provided by the kirk session of the parish. Details of this may be found in the minutes and accounts of the ecclesiastical parish at CH2/704. In 1845 the Poor Law (Scotland) Act set up parochial boards in each ecclesiastical parish in Scotland with a Board of Supervision established in Edinburgh to oversee the administration or relief for the poor. This produced a whole new series of records related to the provision of help for those in need. As well as this function, the parish was also responsible for other aspects of local administration such as recreation grounds, refuse collection and lighting. After 1925, care of local burial grounds was transferred to the parish authorities and at this time, all existing pre-1925 lair and burial records were given over to the care of the parish council. The Local Government (Scotland) Act of 1894 replaced the parochial boards with parish councils although the system of administration remained broadly the same. The 1929 Local Government (Scotland) Act transferred the functions of the parish councils to the district councils of the local county council. Aberfoyle Parish fell under the jurisdiction of Perth Western District Council. In 1948, all provision for the poor became the responsibility of the National Assistance Board with the establishment of the Welfare State in that year.

Aberfoyle Primary School

  • C0604
  • Corporate body
  • 1870 -

Aberfoyle School was opened in 1870. Further accommodation was built onto the school in 1906 and in 1978 when a kitchen was added. From its opening the school catered for children in the of all age groups in the area until 1973 when it became only a primary school, with children transferring to McLaren High School, Callander. In the autumn of 2008 a new nursery was built.

Aberfoyle School Board

  • C0561
  • Corporate body
  • 1873 - 1919

The Education (Scotland) Act 1872 (35 & 36 Vict., c.62) created school boards in Scotland with a statutory duty to provide education for all children between the ages of 5 and 13. The boards had an elected membership made up of owners and occupiers of property of the value of £4 or over. They were responsible for the building and maintenance of schools, staffing and attendance of pupils. They were overseen by the Scotch Board of Education. The Education (Scotland) Act 1901 (64 Vict. and 1 Edw. VII, c.9) raised the school leaving age to 14. School boards were abolished by the Education (Scotland) Act 1918 (8 & 9 Geo. V, c.48) and replaced by education authorities and school management committees.

Aberfoyle School Council

  • C0620
  • Corporate body
  • 1976 - 1989

School and college councils were appointed by each regional or islands council education authority, under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65), to manage the schools or educational establishments in their area. The members of the council included pupils, parents, teachers and suitable representatives from the local community.

Aberfoyle School Management Committee

  • C0562
  • Corporate body
  • 1919 - 1951

School management committees were set up by the Education (Scotland) Act 1918 (8 & 9 Geo. V, c.48). They represented individual burghs, parishes or groups of parishes and were composed of representatives of teachers, parents, and the education authority. They were replaced by sub-committees or local education sub-committees by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1947 (10 & 11 Geo. VI, c.43). The Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65) abolished local education sub-committees.

Results 1 to 10 of 998